Guides: Economics: Articles &amp; Journals

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of information organised to be retrieved in an efficient way. This could be in different formats as follows:

Journal articles
Conference papers
Reports
Books
Patents
Standards

Some databases focus on a specific area while others cover a wide range of subjects, for example: Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of topics like Engineering, Computer Science, Physics, Business, Political Science...etc. while Dentistry & Oral Science specialises in Dentistry fields only.

Search the following databases for online articles, reports and more

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world’s science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information
Jstor
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organisation that serves and is supported by the scholarly community. It offers multidisciplinary archival collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Africa Development Indicators (ADI) Online
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Global Economic Monitors (GEM)
Providing daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data updates are provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage (updated daily and populated upon availability) is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade.
Statista
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Over 900 visionaries, experts and doers continuously reinvent Statista, thereby constantly developing successful new products and business models.
For Glossary Click 🛈
ProQuest One Business
An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers.
Emerald eCase Collection
Global teaching materials to engage and inspire
Our teaching case studies give your students the opportunity to explore real-world challenges and test their decision-making skills before taking their knowledge to the workplace. Our cases are rigorously peer-reviewed and 100% of cases in our Emerging Markets Case Studies (EMCS) or The CASE Journal (TCJ) collections have teaching notes to help you facilitate dynamic classroom discussion and make the most out of your case study.
Passport Euromonitor
Euromonitor International’s Passport is an integrated online database, providing business intelligence on industries, economies and consumers. Its simple-to-use interface makes it easy to find relevant research.