Guides: Chemical Engineering:: Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of information organised to be retrieved in an efficient way. This could be in different formats as follows:

Journal articles
Conference papers
Reports
Books
Patents
Standards

Some databases focus on a specific area while others cover a wide range of subjects, for example: Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of topics like Engineering, Computer Science, Physics, Business, Political Science...etc. while Dentistry & Oral Science specialises in Dentistry fields only.

Request an Article through Document Supply Service (DSS)

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

Use our document supply service to obtain a full text of what is not available within our e-collection. You just need to fill in the form on this page and we will do our best to get it for you.

Document Supply form

How to Guides?

ScienceDirect User Manual
Use this guide to help you in searching ScienceDirect

Royal Society of Chemistry Databases

The Egyptian Knowledge Bank provides an access to a list of products offered by the Royal Society of Chemistry

RSC Gold online Books collection
RSC Journals Archive
RSC e Books
MARINLIT DATABASE
ChemSpider
Learn Chemistry

Note: A username and password will be required to access these databases or create a new one if you were Egyptian (if not please send Mr. Tarek, University Librarian (tmehrem@bue.edu.eg) your details and he will try to provide you with one).

Databases

Databases Available through the Library Portal:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It's a full-text database including scholarly collection that is spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database providing full-text and bibliographic access to materials: journals, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by Business Source Complete are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Energy & Power Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Energy & Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as: global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy & recycling.
IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) provides access to the core IEEE collection of technology journals. With peer-reviewed publications concentrating on theoretical and experimental papers, as well as practical applications in research, design, and specification, ASPP offers valuable research on a variety of topics. ASPP includes 179 online IEEE Society-sponsored journals, magazines, and transactions. Coverage is from 2010 to the present. Delivered via IEEE Xplore® Digital Library.
IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Perpetual access to leading technology content from nearly 480,000 IEEE conference papers across more than 850 conference series. The IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive includes more than 3,700 historical IEEE conference proceedings with coverage dating from 1936 through 1999 (2000 to 2009 update is included), across numerous areas of technology. IEEE conference papers are authored by visionaries of pioneering technologies that laid the groundwork for many innovations of today and tomorrow. The collection includes all of the IEEE conference material currently available in IEEE Xplore® for the years specified.
Jstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organisation that serves and is supported by the scholarly community. It offers multidisciplinary archival collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Is a powerful online resource that provides convenient access to a wide variety of technical literature related to the exploration and production (E&P) industry. OnePetro contains more than 120,000 articles produced by16 publishing partners.
Reaxys
- This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a highly intuitive solution for precisely answering chemistry-related questions. Designed to support researchers at every stage of their careers,. For better-informed decisions and confident investigation of research topics, Reaxys retrieves and delivers precise and accurate property, reaction and synthesis data from a unique collection of peer-reviewed literature, patents, and substance and reaction databases. Special module Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry empowers the development of drugs, food, and agricultural products and technologies with normalized bioactivity data.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world’s science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information
SciFinder-n (for current users) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides access to chemical abstracts, substances, reactions, patents and journal references anytime, anywhere.
SciFinder-n (for new registration)
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides access to chemical abstracts, substances, reactions, patents and journal references anytime, anywhere.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Wiley Online Library - E-Journals Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library features an exceptional portfolio of over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals. Half of which are published in partnership with prestigious international scholarly and professional societies. Our titles cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.
ChemSpider
- This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 29 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 440 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Royal Society of Chemistry: Journals Current and Archives Collection
- This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 45 peer-reviewed journals, around 2,000 book titles and a collection of online databases and literature updating services.
Springer Link - Journals Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Springer journal collection includes more than 2.500 English-language and close to 200 German-language journals. Springer is also home to the largest portfolio of open access journals, including the journals from BioMed Central and the SpringerOpen portfolio.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is a database that allows materials scientists and related scientists to identify materials and their properties. It is the most comprehensive collection of data in the fields of physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, materials science, and related fields.

	To access the Library databases off campus, you need to register with your BUE mail user name & password
	To access the Egyptian Knowledge Bank databases, you need to register with your Egyptian National ID.

Chemical Engineering: Databases

Search

What is a Database?

Request an Article through Document Supply Service (DSS)

How to Guides?

Royal Society of Chemistry Databases

Databases