Guides: Electrical &amp; Computer Systems Engineering:: Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of information organised to be retrieved in an efficient way. This could be in different formats as follows:

Journal articles
Conference papers
Reports
Books
Patents
Standards

Some databases focus on a specific area while others cover a wide range of subjects, for example: Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of topics like Engineering, Computer Science, Physics, Business, Political Science...etc. while Dentistry & Oral Science specialises in Dentistry fields only.

Request an Article through Document Supply Service (DSS)

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

Use our document supply service to obtain a full text of what is not available within our e-collection. You just need to fill in the form on this page and we will get it for you.

IEEE Xplore Tutorial: Working with Results

IEEE Xplore Tutorial: Browsing Conference Publications

IEEE Xplore Tutorial: Browsing by Topic

Databases

Databases Available through the Library Portal:

Emerald Insight
Emerald Publishing was founded in 1967 to champion new ideas that would advance the research and practice of business and management. Today, we continue to nurture fresh thinking in applied fields where we feel we can make a real difference, now also including health and social care, education and engineering.
IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) This link opens in a new window
The IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) provides access to the core IEEE collection of technology journals. With peer-reviewed publications concentrating on theoretical and experimental papers, as well as practical applications in research, design, and specification, ASPP offers valuable research on a variety of topics. ASPP includes 179 online IEEE Society-sponsored journals, magazines, and transactions. Coverage is from 2010 to the present. Delivered via IEEE Xplore® Digital Library.
IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive This link opens in a new window
Perpetual access to leading technology content from nearly 480,000 IEEE conference papers across more than 850 conference series. The IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive includes more than 3,700 historical IEEE conference proceedings with coverage dating from 1936 through 1999 (2000 to 2009 update is included), across numerous areas of technology. IEEE conference papers are authored by visionaries of pioneering technologies that laid the groundwork for many innovations of today and tomorrow. The collection includes all of the IEEE conference material currently available in IEEE Xplore® for the years specified.

IEEE Spectrum
IEEE Spectrum Magazine is the world's leading engineering and scientific magazine explores the development, applications and implications of new technologies. It anticipates trends in engineering, science, and technology.

IET INSPEC Database
Inspec Direct - will give you comprehensive coverage of global scientific and engineering literature, essential for all your research and academic projects.
IET.TV Published
IET.tv - Containing 8,000+ video presentations, IET.tv is a source of engaging and inspiring content from the leading engineers and technologists in academia and industry.
IET E Books Archives
IET Digital Library - Access almost 200,000 journal and conference proceeding papers with an archive dating back to 1872. In addition you can find 450+ DRM free eBooks across 14 specialist subject areas such as radar, energy engineering, control and sensors and healthcare.
SAGE journals
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than
900 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world’s science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Web of Science (WOS) - Core collection
Clarivate Analytics is the world’s leading source of intelligent information for businesses and professionals We combine industry expertise with innovative technology to deliver critical information to leading decision-makers in the financial and risk, legal, tax and accounting, intellectual property and science and media markets, powered by the world's most trusted news organization.

	To access the Library databases off campus, you need to register with your BUE mail user name & password
	To access the Egyptian Knowledge Bank databases, you need to register with your Egyptian National ID.

Electrical & Computer Systems Engineering: Databases

Search

What is a Database?

Request an Article through Document Supply Service (DSS)

Handouts & Videos

Databases