Guides: Communication and Mass Media: Databases

New Subscriptions

BBC Monitoring

BBC Monitor supports research in international relations and media, translates and analyses reports from global media.

BBC Monitoring’s content is relevant to studies of international relations, political science, war studies, terrorism, journalism, and media.

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of information organised to be retrieved in an efficient way. This could be in different formats as follows:

Journal articles
Conference papers
Reports
Books
Patents
Standards

Some databases focus on a specific area while others cover a wide range of subjects, for example: Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of topics like Engineering, Computer Science, Physics, Business, Political Science...etc. While "Communication & Mass Media Complete" covers Mass Media files only.

How to Guides?

Books and Articles Databases

Specific Databases:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.

BBC Monitoring
BBC Monitor supports research in international relations and media, translates and analyses reports from global media.
BBC Monitoring’s content is relevant to studies of international relations, political science, war studies, terrorism, journalism, and media.

Databases covering a wide range of subjects:

Egyptian Knowledge Bank
Will grant all Egyptians from all ages access to the largest amount of knowledge, cultural and scientific contents whether it is basic, applied, technology, human or management science and even public cultural books.
Sage - Adam Matthew
Founded in 1965, SAGE is a leading independent, academic and professional publisher of innovative, high-quality content. Known for our commitment to quality and innovation, SAGE has helped inform and educate a global community of scholars, practitioners, researchers, and students across a broad range of subject areas.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
Cengage
Cengage Learning is a world leader in e-research and educational publishing for libraries, schools and businesses. Best known for our accurate and authoritative reference content as well as our intelligent organisation of full-text magazine and newspaper articles, the company creates and maintains more than 600 databases that are published online, in print, as eBooks and in microform. In EMEA our indigenous collections range from the digitization of global newspaper brands to smaller historical collections.
Almandumah - Arabase
Dar Al Mandumah company is established in 2004, specialized in the field of construction and development of scientific information in specialized databases, research and academic fields. During these years, the company has proved its place in the field of information and services, due to the high professionalism in its management and services.
Emerald Expert Daily Briefings
Actionable analysis from a global network of independent academics, former policymakers, regulators and industry leaders on political, social and economic events. Exploring the impact and implications of emerging trends and developments, Expert Briefings bring thematic teaching to life with ready-made course content.
Cambridge University Press - East View Information Service
Cambridge University Press dates from 1534 and is part of the University of Cambridge. We further the University's mission by disseminating knowledge in the pursuit of education, learning and research at the highest international levels of excellence.
Internet Archive TV News
This research archive contains more than 603,000 news programs collected over 4+ years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added
ProQuest One Business
ProQuest One Business delivers valuable information needed by business students and researchers, including journals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, and streaming videos.
Core
CORE aims to aggregate all open access research and facilitate unrestricted access to research. It allows users to check more than 66 million open access articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It's a full-text database including scholarly collection that is spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The T&F provides access to over 900 must-have online journals from Routledge, It Covers different Disciplines such as Anthropology & Archaeology , Arts and Humanities , Behavioral Science , Economics , Criminology & Law , Education , Library and Information Science , Media, Cultural and Communication Studies,Politics, International Relations and Area Studies , Public Health and Social Care, Chemistry and the Biological, Earth, Environmental & Food Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics and Engineering and Computing Technology subject.
Jstor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organisation that serves and is supported by the scholarly community. It offers multidisciplinary archival collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
PROJECT MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of
research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE’s scholarly journal content.

Multimedia Archives & Databases

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
An archive of high-quality downloadable movie data files free of most use restrictions, many licensed with Creative Commons Licenses. Contains a wide variety of moving images produced in the U.S.
British Film Institute (BFI) Film & TV Database
British Film Institute database providing information (credits, synopses) for 810,000 films and TV programs of all kinds produced worldwide, from the beginning of film production to the present. Also provides filmographies and background information for 1.2 million people, 210,000 organizations, and 23,000 festivals in the film and television industry.
Vanderbilt News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
Media History Digital Library
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

Citation Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Web of Science
Clarivate Analytics is the world’s leading source of intelligent information for businesses and professionals We combine industry expertise with innovative technology to deliver critical information to leading decision-makers in the financial and risk, legal, tax and accounting, intellectual property and science and media markets, powered by the world's most trusted news organization.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Document Supply Service

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

Use our Document Supply Service to obtain a full text of what is not available within our e-collection. You just need to fill in the form on this page and we will do our best to get it for you.

Document Supply Form
Fill out the information inside the form then email it to our DS service:
lib.doc.supply@bue.edu.eg

Communication and Mass Media Databases

Page Contents: