Guides: Arts and Design: E-Books

What are E-Books?

E-books are digital versions of books can be read online, downloaded& printed according to the copyright permission. The titles available in these databases are different than the ones located in our shelves

Note all databases mentioned here are also available throughout the EDS

Browse by Subject

Click on each subject below to see related sources from our online subscriptions:

Open Textbook

Open Textbook Network
The Open Textbook Library was started so that faculty could find open textbooks in one place. More technically, the Open Textbook Library is a comprehensive referatory that points to open textbooks by a variety of authors and publishers.
Open textbooks are a solution. The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.

Explore the library's books to see if an open textbook fits your course's, and students', needs.
OpenStax
A nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University, and it's our mission to give every student the tools they need to be successful in the classroom.
OpenEd
A subset of OER, open textbooks, including those found in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection, can help improve the learning experience for students while mitigating the financial barriers keeping them from achieving their academic goals.

Featured E-Books

Art and Form by Sam Rose
ISBN: 9780271082387
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
Art and Design : History, Theory, Practice by Stupples, Peter
ISBN: 9781527503076
Publication Date: 2017
Art Themes by Marjorie Cohee Manifold
ISBN: 9780253022929
Publication Date: 2017-11-20
Animation by Maureen Furniss (Editor)
ISBN: 9780861966806
Publication Date: 2009-10-05
Handbook of Orthography and Literacy by R. Malatesha Joshi (Editor); P. G. Aaron (Editor)
ISBN: 9780805854671
Publication Date: 2005-08-31
Photography and Landscape by Rod Giblett; Juha Tolonen
ISBN: 9781841504728
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
Drawing Architecture by Neil Spiller (Guest Editor)
ISBN: 9781118418796
Publication Date: 2013-10-28
Basics Architectural Photography by Bert Bielefeld (Editor); Michael Heinrich
ISBN: 9783764386665
Publication Date: 2008-10-17

Search the E-Books Databases

E-Book Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provide a large selection of eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and
is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs, and additional titles are added to the package each month.

E-Books Available through the Egyptian Knowledge Bank (EKB) Website:

Wiley Online Library
One of the world’s leading international publishers of books and journals supporting teaching, learning, research, and industry.
Includes:
-Wiley E-journals Collection - 1519 Journals from 1997 to present
-Wiley Online Books-16, 696 books with STEM Syllabus
-Wiley e-Text Books
SAGE
It publishes more than 850 journals and over 800 books, reference works and databases a year in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine
more...less...
Includes:
Sage Premier Online Journals
Sage Knowledge Online Full Text E- Books
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Open Textbooks

The Bright Continent: African Art History
Kathy Curnow, Cleveland State University
Copyright Year: 2018
Publisher: MSL Academic Endeavors
Guide to Italian art in the 1400s
Ruth Ezra
Beth Harris, Smarthistory
Steven Zucker, Smarthistory
Copyright Year: 2020
Publisher: Smarthistory
Guide to Italian art in the 1300s
Ruth Ezra
Beth Harris, Smarthistory
Steve Zucker, Smarthistory
Copyright Year: 2020
Publisher: Smarthistory
Guide to Ancient Roman art
Ruth Ezra
Beth Harris
Steven Zucker
Copyright Year: 2019
Publisher: Smarthistory
Guide to Ancient Greek Art
Ruth Ezra
Beth Harris
Steven Zucker
Copyright Year: 2019
Publisher: Smarthistory
Guide to Ancient Etruscan Art
Ruth Ezra
Beth Harris
Steven Zucker
Copyright Year: 2019
Publisher: Smarthistory
Guide to Ancient Aegean Art
Ruth Ezra
Beth Harris
Steven Zucker
Copyright Year: 2019
Publisher: Smarthistory
Guide to Ancient Egyptian Art
Ruth Ezra
Beth Harris
Steven Zucker
Copyright Year: 2019
Guide to Ancient Near Eastern Art
Ruth Ezra
Beth Harris
Steven Zucker
Copyright Year: 2019
Publisher: Smarthistory
Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning
Pamela Sachant, University of North Georgia
Peggy Blood, Savannah State University
Copyright Year: 2016
Graphic Design and Print Production Fundamentals
Wayne Collins, British Columbia Institute of Technology
Alex Haas, Emily Carr University
Ken Jeffery, British Columbia Institute of Technology
Alan Martin, British Columbia Institute of Technology
Roberto Medeiros, Ricoh Canada
Steven Tomljanovic, British Columbia Institute of Technology
Copyright Year: 2015
Publisher: BCcampus